Gear Diary

menu navigation

push messages

accounts: Gear Diary

  • Pingback: Rita El Khoury

  • http://www.geardiary.com Federico Cervelli

    Wow, great work both Carly and Judie!

    BTW, let’s talk about that bridge…

  • Dan Cohen

    Kinda explains why the information on the site with regard to their actual content is so very sketchy. A cunning scam… now exposed. Bravo!

  • Pingback: Marianne Schultz

  • Pingback: Reggie Suplido

  • Pingback: Larry Greenberg

  • http://www.geardiary.com Michael Anderson

    I think it is amazing and commendable the tenacity with which you two went at this – I have seen similar PSP sites and always assumed they were scams (most of those actually *are* hosts / portals to illegal stuff) … but ignored them. Kudos to Carly for first exposing them and to Judie for being great as always and standing behind Carly even as money was offered and then threats of legal actions made!

  • Pingback: Bryan Sherman

  • Pingback: Recommended: Gear Diary Exposes myPadMedia

  • Pingback: Tom

  • Middangeard

    One more piece to this ludicrous saga:

    I can’t seem to find a single law firm of Friedman & Friedman that would take this case!

    I found personal injury lawyers and another that deals in real estate, bankruptcy, workers compensation, and social security. Neither with any kind of specialty that would make them take a case like this — unless, you did physically attack them, which I doubt.

  • http://www.mobilitysite.com breley

    Excellent detective work. And, offshore with heavy lenses, a lot of fun to see the bad guys get pwned while swatting away their legal bluster. ;-)

  • Pingback: Steven Hughes

  • Pingback: mythsu

  • Pingback: Paul Jones

  • Pingback: why aren’t these scam artist punished? « My Public Chatter Box

  • Pingback: reesemachine

  • http://www.geardiary.com Judie Lipsett Stanford

    @Middangeard – Looking up the law firm of Friedman & Friedman PA was one of the things I did while researching items for this series of articles, and I also found any of the F&F firms on Google an unlikely choice for this type case, but then … who is to say? My lawyer actually specializes in criminal law, but I have never used him for that purpose. I think that myPadMedia just picked a law firm with a nice, symmetrical name. Maybe they thought it made them sound more intimidating. :-P

  • Pingback: John Obeto

  • Pingback: Arne Hess

  • John S. Hagewood

    It totally freaks me out that thiis site is still in business. And now they are advertising on facebook (i filed a report with them). Also amazing that if you google “mypadmedia scam” you have to wade thru several pages of fake advertising to get to the truth. Sad and despicable.

  • http://twitter.com/opfoong/status/18424254001 Foong

    ipad owners, don't subscribe to mypadmedia before reading this! http://bit.ly/bKF1DM

  • http://twitter.com/opfoong/status/18424265320 Foong

    #ipad owners, don't subscribe to mypadmedia before reading this! http://bit.ly/bKF1DM

  • http://twitter.com/z_rose/status/18612139968 Zoe Rose

    fyi, ipad people – you may see ads for #mypadmedia about. It's 100% a scam, basically just a frame on (free) #feedbooks http://bit.ly/bzLFSU

  • http://twitter.com/glamourgeek/status/18612313598 glamourgeek

    RT @z_rose: fyi, ipad people – you may see ads for #mypadmedia about. It's 100% a scam, basically just a frame on (free) #feedbooks http://bit.ly/bzLFSU

  • http://twitter.com/paperghost/status/19259681801 Chris Boyd

    A "content for your iPad" site is doing the rounds. Someone wrote about them a while ago http://bit.ly/9xgfIg

  • Pingback: Don’t pay to read public domain content on your iPad | Data Protection and Recovery Center

  • http://twitter.com/washiiko/status/21082478460 washii

    I hope you trust your sponsor. Scam – http://tinyurl.com/2fdagtf RT @ShashiChan: Access thousands of eBooks… sponsored http://spn.tw/ttlzp

  • Pingback: I found this site called Mypad Media to buy books for Ipad | Buy Books for Ipad

  • http://twitter.com/jazza_uk/status/21498010123 Adrian Pratt
  • http://twitter.com/markanthony/status/21664385941 markanthony
  • http://twitter.com/tekchic/status/22728804659 Shari Morehead

    Found out myPadMedia is a scam: http://bit.ly/aVfoTe Charging for access to free public domain books from feedbooks.

  • http://twitter.com/charliechu/status/24602157904 Charlie Chu

    Dear freeipaddownload.net (@Karen7912): Prolly not smart spamming a guy who works for a comic book pub who can Google. http://bit.ly/9xgfIg

  • http://twitter.com/thepenmuse/status/15991300453044224 thepenmuse

    The truth about iPadMedia.com , must read : http://bit.ly/bKF1DM

  • http://twitter.com/denisealicea/status/15992334235738112 denisealicea

    RT @geardiarysite: MyPadMedia: The Truth, The Whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth! http://bit.ly/bO4hvG

  • http://twitter.com/bearcubx/status/18487732393222145 Andi Sim

    RT @geardiarysite: MyPadMedia: The Truth, The Whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth! http://bit.ly/bO4hvG

  • http://twitter.com/eboknorden/status/47964933769539585 eBokNorden AS

    E-boken bringer med seg mange mulighet – desverre også øke muligheter for å lure til seg noen kroner. http://bit.ly/9xgfIg #ebok

  • Mxcorp

    its a scam alright…am seriously pissed off right now….

    • Anonymous

      Oh no… Do tell…

      • Mxcorp

        i just joined like an hour ago, and yeah…it only redirects you to a public domain book database, no current bestsellers, no current novels…anything, and there is no feedback option to contact them live…i wish i had seen this article earlier…

  • Amanda Lawson

    Thanks! I was looking at it, and thinking about it. You’re correct, the Twightlight claim makes it look like non-public domain books would be available. My doubts came when I saw that the main pages says 30,000 titles. That seemed a lot less than B&N or Amazon claim and about right for what’s already available free.

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_KAQJ7UMZR4ESHURYO5RW4D5Q6U None of your

    OH my GOD you guys just saved me humiliation. Believe it or not they tried to draw me in even further by stopping me from moving away from the page where I buy the access by serving me a pop-up promoting a sale of 40% off the fees for 24 hours (won’t be surprised if I go back in a couple days and find it still there). I was so close to asking my husband to buy me access when a thought occurred to me to check the legitimacy of the site. Oh wow am I glad I did!! I wish there was a way to get this article out. But most of the folks i know don’t have an ipad or any ebook reader. They even direct you to another site to GET an ebook reader (MacMall) trying to make it look legit. THANK YOU AGAIN for the warning!!!

  • Uncannyman

    Thank you for posting this up. I was almost seconds away from giving my c.card detail when I decided to just hold on for a while and wait for this site (geardiary) to load up. Thank you for saving me 49 bucks! And yes, I too got the 40% off offer!

  • Marylinpayne

    Yeh, I did it.  Wish I had see this site earlier.  I’m worried about them having my debit card information.  Is there anything I can do to stop this?  Do I need to change cardsd?

  • Nathalie Brigitte

    Thank you SO much!!! I was really considering getting this service, but now that I’ve read this, I am DEFINITELY not going to purchase it.

iPad Theme

Leave A Comment

Cancel