PSA: If You Are a Verizon Wireless Customer, Check Your Privacy Settings!

Whenever a wireless carrier discusses your private information, you can be sure of one thing: they are trying to squeeze more money out of you by leveraging your information, but know that if they don’t give you an opt-out they will have regulators breathing down their necks. So … this week we get an email from Verizon Wireless.

What information are they storing?

Mobile Usage Information:
• Addresses of websites you visit when using our wireless service. These data strings (or URLs) may include search terms you have used
• Location of your device (“Location Information”)
• App and device feature usage

Consumer Information:
• Information about your use of Verizon products and services (such as data and calling features, device type, and amount
of use)
• Demographic and interest categories provided to us by other companies, such as gender, age range, sports fan, frequent diner, or pet owner (“Demographics”)

As for HOW they will be using that data, here is a sample:

HOW INFORMATION WILL BE USED: To make mobile ads you see more relevant.

Description: When you use your wireless device, you often see ads on websites and apps. Using certain Consumer Information (such as your Demographics, device type, and language preference) and the postal address we have for you, we will determine whether you fit within an audience an advertiser is trying to reach. This means ads you see may be more relevant to you. We will not share any information that identifies you personally.

Example: A local restaurant may want to advertise only to people who live within 10 miles, and we might help deliver that ad on a website without sharing information that identifies you personally.

What to do? According to Verizon:

If you do not want us to use your information for any of the purposes described above, please let us know at any time by:

Visiting Or Calling 1-866-211-0874

Source: Verizon Wireless via Consumerist

Categories: Gear Bits

Tags: ,

1 reply

  1. Yeah, and you have to save each setting separately. You can’t select all three and save them at once. It moves it back to “OK to share” if you click all three off and save one of them.