Toto Announces Toto XIV, ‘Spiritual Successor’ to Toto IV

While there is no denying how huge Toto IV was for my generation when it came out in 1982, having my kids ask me to add it back to our iTunes library after a recent mass purge confirmed just how huge and relevant it remains for the current generation. The group is preparing their first new album in a decade!


OK, I couldn’t resist using that meme … here is the band:


In what is sure to be exciting news for rock music fans, Toto is releasing their first studio album in nearly 10 years! Titled TOTO XIV, the album will be released by Frontiers Music Srl in Europe on March 20, followed by the UK on March 23 and the US on March 24, and will be followed by a World Tour that kicks off in Glasgow on May 21st, 2015.

Toto XIV reassembles nearly all of the original members, with guitarist Steve Lukather, David Paich, Steve Porcaro, Joseph Williams being rejoined by founding bassist David Hungate. Drums on the record are handled by Keith Carlock, but on the upcoming tour Shannon Forest will be rejoining the group. Fans will remember that founding member and ‘Rosanna’ composer Jeff Porcaro tragically passed away in 1992.

Regarding the album, the band say they “personally consider the new album to be the true follow-up to TOTO IV”, which includes songs such as Africa and Rosanna and made the band global superstars”

“This is opposite of going through the motions,” says keyboardist Steve Porcaro. We’re treating this like it is Toto V, our follow-up to TOTO IV. We just want to be the best version of ourselves that we can be. Be true to ourselves and make the best music we can. Entertain people which is what we were put on this earth for.”

“When you put us in a room, and everybody brings in their pieces, the next thing you know it all fits together,” says guitarist Steve “Luke” Lukather. “Everybody’s performances are top notch. We are really bringing our best out, forcing ourselves to make personal best choices, what’s best for the music. I’m really excited to hear what people think.”

1. Running Out Of Time
2. Burn
3. Holy War
4. 21st Century Blues
5. Orphan
6. Unknown Soldier (For Jeffrey)
7. The Little Things
8. Chinatown
9. All The Tears That Shine
10. Fortune
11. Great Expectations

The album is now available for pre-order at on LP for $29.98, CD for $16.98 or Deluxe CD version which includes a ‘making of’ DVD for $22.98.

Here is the EPK video:

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. If you are shopping on Amazon anyway, buying from our links gives Gear Diary a small commission.

About the Author

Michael Anderson
I have loved technology for as long as I can remember - and have been a computer gamer since the PDP-10! Mobile Technology has played a major role in my life - I have used an electronic companion since the HP95LX more than 20 years ago, and have been a 'Laptop First' person since my Compaq LTE Lite 3/20 and Powerbook 170 back in 1991! As an avid gamer and gadget-junkie I was constantly asked for my opinions on new technology, which led to writing small blurbs ... and eventually becoming a reviewer many years ago. My family is my biggest priority in life, and they alternate between loving and tolerating my gaming and gadget hobbies ... but ultimately benefits from the addition of technology to our lives!